R.I.P. Sean Taylor 1983-2007

Sean Taylor

This is the hardest thing I’ve ever had to write.

Sean Taylor was one of the players I hoped one day I could be like when I was in high school.

Now he’s gone.

It was a home invasion, a burglary, a robbery, whatever you want to call it, that didn’t end well.

When I first heard that Sean had been shot I didn’t initially think too much of it. He had a checkered past and it looked like another situation someone else may have avoided, but not Sean. “Here we go again,” I thought. I may have even snickered a little bit.

This morning when the news came across my screen I was shocked. I had followed his career since his sophomore year in Miami and now he’s gone. It was a emotionally confusing day.

Growing up I wondered if I would ever be 6’3 and 230 lbs or run a 40 yard dash in 4.3 seconds. (none of which came to fruition) Sean had that. He was the ultimate athlete. The perfect fit for the safety position. Sean had the instinct and the ruthless highlight reel hits. He had severely underrated ball-skills and though he made a few mistakes in coverage, he still encompassed everything a defensive player needs to be.

He’ll be missed.

As a sophomore at the University of Miami, Sean helped lead the team to the national title game, which many contest the referees blew with an overtime pass interference call to this very day. I still remember the play and the incredibly late flag.

That year he started 13 games, made 85 tackles (4tfl), broke up 15 passes and had 4 interceptions.

His junior year was the stuff legends are made of. He only started 11 games and yet picked off 10 passes, tied for the single season record at UM. He also tallied 77 tackles (6tfl), and broke up 13 passes. He was named first team All-American and drafted fifth overall by the Washington Redskins that year.

The rest is history.

Sean became one of the most feared players in the NFL. Sean Taylor is gone but not forgotten.

Thanks for the hits, thanks for the inspiration, thanks for playing ball. 

Rest In Peace.

4 Responses

  1. man i feel so bad that mr. taylor died he was the best ever …………………..r.i.p love deontrey

  2. As a Redskin fan, I have grown to see how great Sean Taylor was going to be, it’s the saddest thing I can imagine regarding an athlete. Thanks for your article.

  3. Wow, i loved watching Sean play he was really good, I was thinking about making him a page on National Hall of Records because it is free till memorial day I built a page for my grandfather that died a few years back on National Hall of Records, they are running a free campaign until Memorial Day. You might think of building a page on there too. It’s a great site! Sorry for your loss! Best Brian

Leave a Reply

