Ball Hockey

This will be the first post on the Sports Corner that has to do with grass-roots sports, and with developing young children.

Before You read anything, read this quote by Wayne Gretzky.

“If sport has a high point of the year, it must be the first week of spring.” “…When I was growing up, I used to love this time of year. It was when I put my hockey equipment away and I was absolutely ecstatic to see the end of the hockey season. One of the worst things to happen to the game, in my opinion, has been year-round hockey and, in particular, summer hockey.”All it does for kids, as far as I can tell, is keep them out of sports they should be doing in warmer weather. I could hardly wait to get my lacrosse stick out and start throwing the ball around. It didn’t matter how cold or rainy it would be, we’d be out firing the ball against walls and working on our moves as we played the lacrosse equivalent to road hockey.” “All the good hockey players seemed to play lacrosse in those days and every one of them learned something from the game to carry over to the other – things athletes can only learn by mixing up games they play when they are young.”

Yes, while hockey will almost always come first in my life, every day I go to the rink for my lacrosse floor-times, and every day I see a new breed, albeit a lesser breed, of athletes. Ball hockey players.

A non-contact game where hockey players wear soccer shin-pads and socks.

This annoys me to no avail. Hockey is just not a summer sport, and trying to use the lacrosse box to try and integrate hockey into the summer is the worst excuse and failed attempt at any form of hockey.

If parents want their children to develop as hockey players, they need to keep them on the ice. Keep them playing spring hockey. Not some lolly-gagging sport that doesn’t have the same dynamics as the real thing.

And the absolute worst of these parents are the ones that put their goaltending children in ball hockey.

Goalies for the last decade have been tought to slide in the butterfly style from side to side. One problem, you can’t do that on concrete.

Now, in my hometown, I play Junior B Lacrosse, and get one practice time and one home game time a week. At the senior level where players such as myself are trying to get to the next level and develop skills and conditioning, one practice a week is just not enough. The only solution to getting more floortime, is no ball hockey.

Every city in B.C will have spring hockey. That’s all there is to it.

Keep the summer sports in summer, and the winter sports in winter.

 

2 Responses

  1. Ball hockey is fun. Thats all. Especially for the kids who can’t afford ice hockey. I play every week and its a great way to keep fit.
    I agree with playing many sports too improve conditioning but the main point of sports is too have fun. If you want to develop skills and condition, take your own advice and try some other sports as well.

  2. You really don’t get it???? The people that play ball hockey don’t just play b/c they want to cool like lacross players, they play b/c they love the sport of hockey. no matter what type of turf they play on, they are still playing hockey. When I first started playing, I played what they used to call street hockey, and Yes, it was on the concrete!!! Imagine that huh, hockey on cement???? Now before you cry anymore for more time to practice realize that real hockey players play no matter what b/c they love it. get over it and be a man and play hockey on the concrete who knows you might just hurt yourself.

Leave a Reply

